Dogpile

Did you ever play dog pile as a kid? Some poor person ends up on the floor, and everyone else piles on top. I hated that game, mainly due to claustrophobia.

I still hate that game, especially when my applications play it. All the years I used Mac OS 10.1, 10.2, 10.3 and 10.4, application windows dog piled atop each other. Then I entered the “future of computing.” Spaces, application assignments, gesture-based app switchers. I could really zip around in Leopard and Snow Leopard. Mail lived in space 1, Safari in 2. I could always find Final Cut Pro in 5. My ten most used apps all had their own spaces.

But Apple let another cat out of the bag: Mountain Lion. Unfortunately, application-assigned spaces didn’t get out of the bag. There are definite improvements in Mountain Lion, but this cat dog piles terribly. Application-specific spaces are no more, and I miss them. My windows are a total mess. Claustrophobia and confusion has destroyed my former productivity. For all the awesome improvements in 10.8, I’m really quite annoyed at this omission. Adding insult to injury, the application switcher lost it’s gesture to a space switcher. Now I’m able to get from space to space faster, but there’s no telling what I might find in those spaces.

Leave a Reply

